VMware Cloud Community
goofygoose
Contributor
Contributor

VMFS3 for MSCS shared storage, why not?

From the paper on configuring MSCS across physical hosts on ESX3.5, it was stated that RDM be used for the quorum and all other shared disk volumes.

I have been wondering why can't the quorum and shared storage be on vmfs3 partitions instead. I have a large number of MSCS clusters to be set up and using vmfs3 for shared storage will definately make the SAN administration a lot easier, not to mention the large number of LUNs that will be required to be configured on my storage controller and risk exceeding the maximum number of LUNs it can support.

Hence, I have set up a 2 node MSCS cluster across 2 different hosts, using a shared vmfs3 partition on a shared iscsi target. The shared vmdk files (of type eagerzeroedthick) for the quorum and shared storage were created at the service console using vmkfstool. The scsi controller for the quorum disk and shared disks is of type "LSI Logic" and "Physcial" mode.

The rest of the configurations were followed using the vmware MSCS configuration guide and the Microsoft MSCS configuration guides. The 2 guest OS are windows server 2003 enterprise editions.

The MSCS installation and configurations were successfully completed and my initial testings looks good, with the nodes being able to failover well in both planned and unplanned scenerios.

So my big question is... what's wrong with using vmfs3 for the quorum (and shared storage) instead of RDMs??

0 Kudos
32 Replies
goofygoose
Contributor
Contributor

I forgot to add that I am using ESX3.5 update 3 and vCenter 2.5.

0 Kudos
runclear
Expert
Expert

Try to take a VCB backup or a stand alone snapshot, and see what happens :smileymischief:

-------------------- What the f* is the cloud?!
0 Kudos
goofygoose
Contributor
Contributor

Ohh thanks! I am starting to see some differences between the 2 implementations!