VMware Cloud Community
chill
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

RHEL 5 (32 bit) performance issues

I have a RHEL 5 (32 bit) Virtual Machine hosted on an IBM x3850 (ESX 3.5 UPdate 3). The VM is assigned 1 gig of memory, 1 vCPU, 50 Gig Disk (which is located on our SAN). Almost all of our VM's are Windows vm, only 2 linux. The other Linux VM is running fine. This one, the performance is terrible - Disk and CPUperformance in particular. My background is more on the Windows side, so I'm looking for some help to boost the performance of the RHEL 5 VM.

Let me know what other information you require to help with this.

Thanks in advance

If you find this information helpful or correct, please consider awarding points.
0 Kudos
26 Replies
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Moved to Virtual Machine and Guest OS forum.

I would start looking at /var/log/messages within your VM as well as determine which processes are running, etc. Is VMware Tools installed? You will need to debug the VM before we can look at other issues. What is running within this VM?

Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky

VMware Communities User Moderator

====

Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.

SearchVMware Blog: http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarget.com/virtualization-pro/

Blue Gears Blogs - http://www.itworld.com/ and http://www.networkworld.com/community/haletky

As well as the Virtualization Wiki at http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Virtualization

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIV: 2009-2023,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
0 Kudos
ToS_45
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

We are experiencing the same problem with our performance of RHEL5 against VM on ESX.

We are dealing with Redhat and VMware support for several months now, but no solution is found and it seems that nobody has faced the problem !