VMware Cloud Community
opanwar
Contributor
Contributor

RAID Configuration for Server

Hi guys,

I am working on a project involving ESXi, and my department has bought a dell T610 for it. It has 8 x 450GB HDDs, which I have configured as 2x RAID 5s and one as hotspare. While reading online on various other forums I saw that people have complained about having a degraded performance with RAID 5 and ESX/ESXi. Has anyone else experienced degraded performance? Does RAID 10

solve the problem?

Additional details:

I will be running roughly 40-50 virtual machines on this server.

While answering please consider that I am a newbie in ESXi as well as RAID configuration.

Thank You,

Ojas

0 Kudos
9 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

40-50 VMs is quite a heavy load - what sort of workloads will these VMs be runnings? What type of CPUs are in this box? How much memory? - I ask these because 40-50 VMs on a single host could overload the hosts other resources -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
opanwar
Contributor
Contributor

These VMs would be used by students for learning configuration of various OS(ubuntu/Win2K3/Win2K8/SUSE etc), so they would typically have 512 MB RAM or at max 1 GB for resource hungry OS like Win 2K8.

Server configuration:

2 x Intel Xeon E5540 @ 2.53 GHz

48 GB 1066 MHz RDIMMs

8 x 450GB 15k HDD

0 Kudos
dtracey
Expert
Expert

Hi Opanwar,

For simply running vanilla guest OSes then your configuration will be fine. You only need to start worrying if they are running IO heavy apps such as SQL / Oracle etc! Then it would be worth looking at RAID 10...

Dan

opanwar
Contributor
Contributor