VMware Cloud Community
htown1035
Contributor
Contributor

Major problems setting up guest OS

Ok, I'm relatively new with VMWare and ESXI 3.5, but I've been working on this issue for hours with no answer. I hope someone can help me here.

I have a Dell PowerEdge 2900 with VMWare ESXi 3.5 loaded up without issue. I have created a new virtual machine without issue. But I can't get either a CD/DVD or ISO to boot to load the guest OS on the VM.

I have browsed these boards and the Internet, and I still cannot get this to work. Under the VM hardware options, I have tried to point the CDRom to the server CD Rom drive to boot, but it still goes to the PXE boot. I have told it to browse to the ISO files I have from MS and even renamed them and lowercased the .iso extension, still PXE boot and Operating System not found messages. I have gone into the BIOS and told it to boot from CDROM, still no luck.

I then tried to do what a lot of the forums said and copy the ISO over directly to the datastore on the server using WinSCP and Veeam FastSCP, and neither one works. It simply says Host refused or host not found. I have tried to telnet to the IP of the server on port 22 to see, and it can't connect as if it's not listening on that port.

The CDROM on the server is a SATA drive, but even the fixes for SATA CDROM's I've tried don't work.

Can anyone help me? This stuff is kinda critical at this point...

Jay

0 Kudos
10 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

Sounds like your ISO files are bad. Have you checksummed them after uploading?

have you uploaded them to the datastore using the datastore browser?

--Matt

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

...so you are 100% sure this .iso is bootable? Can you burn it to a CD, and try to boot off of it from some other device like your laptop?

0 Kudos
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the forums.