VMware Cloud Community
JCTeacher
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Instructor Needs Advice on Setting up a VMWare Lab

I am an Instructor at a community college in California. I have taught computer information systems classes for a number of years covering a wide range of computing technologies. I have some experience with VMWare but only on a limited basis. I have been tasked with setting up a computer lab for the purpose of teaching the basics of VMWare and HyperV to students. The level of the classes will usually not go beyond intermediate skill levels. I have room for about 20 students in this lab. I have the following setup in mind.

20 desktop computers capeable of running Windows 7

20 low-end servers (think a budget Dell poweredge)

1 additional server with more storage to act as a storage server

Each server/desktop shared with a KVM switch

Each server and desktop booting from external sata docking station. (Each student gets two drives to configure for the semester)

Each server and desktop with 2 gigabit ethernet adapters installed.

48 port Gigabit switch

2 24-port, or 4 16-port switches and a couple of cisco routers in order to create some subnetting configurations

All the mice, keyboards, extra hard drives, moniters, and cables to connect everything.

I am reluctant to install a Storage Area Network at this time.

My questions to the group.

Am I going in the right direction?

Is the SAN really needed for my needs?

Thanks for any advice you could offer.

Regards.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

With ESXi you are now able to fairly easily virtualize other hypervisors like Hyer-V and ESXi itself so I might suggest this:

1) 20 workstations for each users

2)  2 - 3 more powerful servers (with lots of memory) so serve as the platform for virtualize ESXi / Hyper-V VMs

3) Storage - it could be completely local or on SAN.