VMware Cloud Community
sbranchfbfs
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

How do you restore vm images from snapshot?

I'm new to the concept of snapshotting. But I understand the basics. I am a little unclear on how I would restore a VM image from a VCB backup, however.

VCB creates snapshots of the VM that is being backed up. I have noticed in testing that the snapshots do not appear to be the same size as my actual live vmdk. How would I be able to restore the VM image if the snapshot is not the same size? If my vmdk is 10 GB and my snapshot is only 3GB, isn't data missing? Won't my restored VM have a hard drive size of only 3GB when it was originally 10GB?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
depping
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Well VMware technically it's not a snapshot. It's a sort of thin provisioned disk image. VCB dumps only occupied diskspace. so in other words if you have a 10GB disk but it just contains 3GB, only the 3GB will be dumped with VCB.

You can easily restore them with VMware Converter, start it up and chose "backup / disk image"

Duncan

My virtualisation blog:

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
chandlm
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Obviously the restore process depends on the environment but in general here's how I restore:

1. Restore the entire image backup from tape/disk to the VCB proxy server

2. Fire up Converter, point it to the .vmx file in the restore

3. Tell Converter to create the new 'restored' VM to Virtual Center

I think VCB will backup only the used space on the .vmdk file but I could be wrong. Maybe that's why you see the size difference. You could run through the process once and see what you end up with as a test.

depping
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Well VMware technically it's not a snapshot. It's a sort of thin provisioned disk image. VCB dumps only occupied diskspace. so in other words if you have a 10GB disk but it just contains 3GB, only the 3GB will be dumped with VCB.