VMware Cloud Community
mlazzareschi
Contributor
Contributor

Exchange performance issues

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this VM thing so here goes.

We have just recently finished virtualizing our entire data center. We are having a big performance problem with our Exchange sever in particular. Since the migration, we have been experiencing a lot of latencey using Outlook. I ran the Exchange troubleshooting assistant and it is saying that there is a bottleneck in the disk I/O. Any thoughts on what can be done to improve this issue?

All of the servers are on their own LUN, the RAID array is RAID 6.

Thanks,

Mike

0 Kudos
20 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

HOw many HBAs do you have per host? Have spread the load across all available paths to storage? I assume you have installed VMware tools in your VMs -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
mlazzareschi
Contributor
Contributor

What do you mean by HBA's? What should i be looking at?

0 Kudos
mike_laspina
Champion
Champion

Hi,

Can you post the output of

esxcfg-info -r > esxres.log

Just attach the esxres.log file that it creates

http://blog.laspina.ca/ vExpert 2009
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

HBAs are the storage adapters you are using to connect to your SAN - the output of ESXCFG-INFO should have that info -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
kukacz
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

What storage are you using? Is it the same as before you migrated to ESX? How many users are working with the Exchange?

--

Lukas Kubin

mlazzareschi
Contributor
Contributor

Is this something that i should be running in an SH session?

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

yes it is something to run in an SSH session -

0 Kudos
mlazzareschi
Contributor
Contributor