VMware Cloud Community
Morrow201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Assigning NIC’s to my ESX hosts

Hello,

I have recently been tasked with building a second VMware environment at our DR location.

I have limited experience with VMware, but I have been looking after our production servers for a while and I am pretty sure that the network configuration is very poor. I’d like to get it right at the DR site and then eventually correct it on live.

Each of my ESX hosts has 6 NICs available.
I am using iSCSI at the DR site as opposed to FC in production.
I have only 1 subnet available for all connections, I can use VLANs if needed and in the future I might be able to use separate switches for my iSCSI traffic but not from the start.

I have currently assigned

1 NIC to the service console
1 NIC to Vmotion
2 NICs to the VM network
1 NIC to a second service console on a different subnet (this doesn’t serve any purpose but gets rid of the alarm for redundant service console)
1 unassigned NIC, which I was thinking of teaming to the first NIC to provide redundancy

So how am I best to assign these NICs? Which NIC is used for the iSCSI traffic? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

0 Kudos
6 Replies
logiboy123
Expert
Expert

Don't use ESX, use ESXi.

2 NIC's for the Management and vMotion network

2 NIC's for the iSCSI network

2 NIC's for VM Networking

Are you using Enterprise Plus?

Is your vCenter server physical or virtual and where is it, in the production vSphere environment?

Typical best practice for Management and vMotion is two have two NIC's on a vSwitch (vSS) where the VMKernel ports are setup so:

Management - vmnic0 active / vmnic3 standby

vMotion - vmnic0 standby / vmnic3 active

This is documented in one of the best practice documents, but I can't remember off the top of my head which one.