VMware {code} Community
mung1
Contributor
Contributor

How to repair corrupt vmware disk with linux partition on it?

Okay I have a damaged windows disk running vmplayer and linux ubuntu12 on the VM, and amazingly my backup portable hardrive also has corruption so the only thing I can do is try repair.

I have looked at vmware-vdiskmanager and vmwarediskmout but it ooks like they only handle windows virtual disks? link ---> Running the VMware Virtual Disk Manager Utility

The main problem is that vmwareplayer will not allow the vm to run if it thinks there is a problem with the disk so I cannot access the drive at all without getting vmwareplayer to load the system.

So I started playing with things to see what I could do.

The VM had 2 virtual disks only 1 is corrupt, the disks are split as 2Gb sections on a windows system.

So luckily the corrupt drive was not the boot drive so I edit the VM .vmx file and change the config line to remove the corrupt virtual disk ( scsi0:1.present = "FALSE"), so now my VM boots and I can get some of my files back, but still there is a huge amount of important data on the second drive.

The next bit is a terrible hack but it got a little more data off the corrupt virtual disk file, I could see which 2Gb file was corrupt cause the copy had a different file mod date as it could not be correctly copied from the host windows systems disk, so I copied one of the other 2Gb .vmdk files and renamed it to the same as the corrupted file then edit the machine .vmx file back to  ( scsi0:1.present = "TRUE"), and amazingly the is now no problem booting and mounting the linux ext2 drive within the VM. I have started copying off some files but there are a few directorys that have errors filessystem superblock error (obviously dues to the image being totally incorrect) I want to go  further with trying to get as much data as possible restored,

What I need to know is how does vmwareplayer decide a file is corrupted and refuse to run because of it?