VMware Virtual Appliances Community
VMTN_Admin
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Ultimate Deployment Appliance

http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/232

Deploy your favorite OS by pressing F12, bring your own ISO's, we'll do the rest

0 Kudos
672 Replies
lonelyjp
Contributor
Contributor

Yes, but the default e100b325.inf file does not have this entry -> PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_1229&SUBSYS_107010CF

I manually added it and everything worked!

Thanks.

0 Kudos
munyard
Contributor
Contributor

This looks great, I wish to use it for a school to deploy about 80 computers.

Schools generaly have a range of application that need to be rolled out?

How do I also roll out applications?

0 Kudos
_the_dude_
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Munyard,

Applications are usually done by MSI packages or setups with answer files these days. http://www.appdeploy.com contains a lot of information for lots of different applications. This appliance is geared toward OS deployment. I'm not an application expert, but that's where I would start. You can create your own MSI installs with software like WISE studio http:/www.wise.com but beware: its not as easy as it sound from this post... Good luck!

0 Kudos
bilou_gateux
Contributor
Contributor

Truely excellent appliance. Will sooner use it instead of using M$ RIS which requires AD.

1st install of winxp went smooth on oldest PIII 1GHz with Intel Pro/100 VM connection.

how to access UDA samba share to view dir tree and upload files from windows host 10.0.0.1

i have tried:

net use z:
10.0.0.104\reminst

admin

admin

with no success.

0 Kudos
_the_dude_
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

bilou_gateux

try this:

net use *
10.0.0.104\reminst /user:guest

should work with no password or (when asked) try an empty password.

0 Kudos
bilou_gateux
Contributor
Contributor

100 % working with the guest account and no password.

Thanks.