VMware Virtual Appliances Community
tronin
Contributor
Contributor

NEW virtualization technology

Unfortunately I'm not a programmer, that's why I can not produce working code of virtual appliance, where my idea would be realized. Everybody can make use of my idea for making himself code, if it's interesting and relevant.

Supply.

Present situation.

It is obvious, virtualization technology will became one of the most popular and important.

As for me where is some problem – virtualization process is realized mainly on OS-level.

Of course hardware producers try to create their own virtualization mechanisms. But as mechanisms are commercial and non-opened they are promoted hard. And that is prior, and they can not become industry standard de facto.

This fact directed me to the next idea.

Main point.

It is very simple: it is necessary remove all virtualization mechanisms to hardware-level, and give typical virtual hardware to OS. Modern OS should be full abstracted and independent from hardware where it works. Adaptation function should execute middleware. It substitutes BIOS fully and OS partly. Let it be “virtual computer”. Only it will be specified for hardware and divide system resources.

In other words kernel (if possible it is better to use microkernel) install on motherboard (not on HDD). This microkernel will be specified for hardware and give “standart virtual hardware” (SVH) for OS (or OS'es) placed on HDD. SVH can give hardware system resources to OS fully or partly.

Certainly in virtual computer development should be used Open Source software, because of it cannot be allowed a little opportunity to take monopoly or to exert influence on all users of this technology.

Of course for this developing will demand good will and hands on from hardware producers: processors, graphic accelerators, motherboards, chipsets, network hardware, periphery etc.