VMware Virtual Appliances Community
daniel_uk
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

100k Competition

Hi,

If anyone is interested in having a discussion about possible ideas to enter the competition with then please provide an email address so we can get some ideas going.

I am full of ideas but know NOTHING about programming etc.

Dan

0 Kudos
17 Replies
AMcCreath
Commander
Commander

It's a fore-gone conclusion that the winner will be the person who gets the xbox 360 to run as a virtual appliance!!

:smileygrin:

0 Kudos
larstr
Champion
Champion

Now there's even a new forum dedicated to this challenge:

Ultimate Virtual Appliance Challenge Discussion

Lars

0 Kudos
jasonboche
Immortal
Immortal

I have ideas but I'm sure they are lame in comparison to what will likely be winning material. Besides, I wouldn't know how to package all the components and make it work since I'm not a programmer either. I am jealous though. Someone(s) is going to make a nice chunk of money and major kudos/props from the community. I still can't believe how much prize money is being awarded for this. Whoever it was that mentioned XBOX appliance hacking - that's the type of genius that this is going to take, maybe more, which I do not have the background or the time for.

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
larstr
Champion
Champion

There you said it. Time[/b]. I think that may be a key issue for a lot of people here who are also having a requirement of a Real Life(tm).

Lars

0 Kudos
sherold
Expert
Expert

For 100K, I'll give up my life for 3 months :-). Too bad it isn't guarenteed. And I don't think XBox fits under the "Open Source" requirement of the contest... I don't think M$ will like that too much. Same goes for OSX hacking or a virtual DVD library. All the GOOD ideas are things we can't "legally" do.

Scott

-Scott ________________________ http://www.vmguru.com http://www.thevesi.org
0 Kudos
bac
Expert
Expert