VMware Cloud Community
jhendry01
Contributor
Contributor

Vsphere inaccessible via web and logins aren't working.

I work in a school system with a 3 person IT department west of Fort Worth, Texas.  None of us have any experience with VMWare.  Yeah, that's a problem.  The previous IT manager is no longer with the district and, for the most part, was the only one who worked with the system.  He "taught" me how to spin up a VM session about 3 years ago (which is still running).  I have the UID and PW from those sessions, so I know they did work at one time.

Here is our problem... when he left, the VSphere console became unresponsive when we tried to access via IP or FQDN.  I can get to a login screen on our VMWare EXSi machines, but the two UIDs I have do not work. 
I tried an SSH session into the VSphere client, but I get an invalid UID or Password. 

This hasn't been a problem until this week, when one of our VMs became unresponsive.  We need some help.  I'm already aware that there is not an official back door into the unit, but there has to be some way for us to get into this box. 

I believe the Vsphere is a physical machine, but I am unable to determine where it is located.  I am able to physically locate our two ESXi servers.

If I can locate the VSphere server,  can I just cold shutdown and restart, and will that accomplish anything?

Are there any other steps that I can take?

(And yes, I need to look into VMWare training, so suggestions are welcome on that).

Thanks for your help.  I've been searching the forums, but unfortunately, either I'm using the wrong search terms, or this is a unique problem.

John

0 Kudos
10 Replies
brandonbazan
Contributor
Contributor

Hey John, 

When you say the vSphere Client, are you trying to login to a vCenter(appliance to manage multiple ESXi hosts and workload...well and a bunch of other things in a single UI) ?