VMware Cloud Community
laubry
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to ping from my ESXi host to outside network

Hi,

Sorry I'm sure others have posted with similar questions, and I read through a few but not finding the answer.  I have to believe it's something simple I'm missing.  So here goes.  In short I've tried two different approaches to get this to work.  I'm new to VMware and actually trying to build a Cisco CCIE Collaboration lab so it's been a bit of a learning curve with VMware and I'm sure I'm missing something simple or obvious.

On the left of the picture I have my home network connected to the Vnic0 Management port on my Host DL 380 server.  From the CSR1000v I can ping out without any issues to Google, but when trying to ping from my Win7 box on the other side of the CSR I can't.

On the right side of the picture is a similar setup, except it's all physical equipment up to the Host and VSwitch.  In this instance I created Vswitch1  and used physical nics 1 & 2 connected to it via trunking back to my 3560 layer 3 switch.  Now while trying to solve my issue I read a document that say I should have that Vswitch tagged as Vlan 4095, will definitely try that when I get back home.  Aside from that any assistance anyone can provide or best practices would be greatly appreciated.

I've also attached snapshots of the routing table of the Win7 machine from each of the scenarios.

If there's any additional information needed please feel free to ask.

Thanks you,

Lance

0 Kudos
6 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

Can you please show some screenshots of your ESXi host's vSwitch topology and physical NICs? I'm finding your diagram difficult to follow, honestly.

0 Kudos
laubry
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for the reply, I've attached the screen shots of what I believe you're asking for let me know if you need anything further.  I set the Vlan to 4095 per doc I read earlier today, and it doesn't appear to have made a difference.

Best regards,

Lance Aubry