VMware Cloud Community
slouich
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Unable to enumerate all disks

Hello all!!!!! Home lab player. I have a VM that I was trying to move to a SSD that I installed rather than a regular HDD. I copied it from one data store to another with no luck then I tried the move to the new data store with no luck. I am new to this and would like some help saving my VM. I have windows server installed on it and it is controlling my domain. I do not want to re install the server and re-do the computers on my network. If anyone could help point me in a direction I would appreciate it.

Thank you,

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
SupreetK
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

As I thought, WINSvr-flat.vmdk seems to be missing. Since it is a data disk (and not the descriptor), it cannot be recreated. Only option would be to restore it from the backup, if any. If WINSvr16 is the new VM you are talking about, I would say let's go ahead and get it up.

Please consider marking this answer as "correct" or "helpful" if you think your questions have been answered.

Cheers,

Supreet

View solution in original post

17 Replies
slouich
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Digging in while waiting for a little help I found that I cannot save the config file. Also, when I try and power on the VM it never writes to the log file.

0 Kudos
SupreetK
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

How are you trying to move the files? Using the migrate option or from using the move option from the datastore browser? Is the VM running on a snapshot?

Can you share the screenshot of the error you are getting while moving/migrating the disk? Also, are both source and destination datastore VMFS-5? Or on a different version?

Cheers,

Supreet

0 Kudos
slouich
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

SupreetK,