VMware Cloud Community
Ineedhelpbadly
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

URGENT HELP - VM migration to a different host

I have been asked to carry out a migration to a different host machine.  I have never done this before, so unsure.  I found an article: https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/5850444, but if anyone has done this, it would be very appreciative if that person could offer a bit of advice and tips for doing this.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

some details about your environment, and what exactly you need/want to do will help.

• Do you want to migrate a VM from one host to another in a vCenter Server managed environment?
  • What vSphere license edition do you have?
  • Is the VM stored on shared storage, or do you need to migrate the VM's files too?

André

Ineedhelpbadly
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thank you for your reply.

• Do you want to migrate a VM from one host to another in a vCenter Server managed environment? - yes.  But the vcentre will be in a different domain
  • What vSphere license edition do you have? - 6.5
  • Is the VM stored on shared storage, or do you need to migrate the VM's files too? - I think it will stay on the same storage.

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Sorry, but I still don't really understand what you want/need to do.

In your first post you mentioned that you need to "carry out a migration", which is usually a pretty straight forward task, especially with a vSphere edition which supports vMotion. . But now you talk about a different domain for vCenter!?

Please explain as detailed as possible what exactly you have now, and what you want to end up with.

André

Ineedhelpbadly
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello.

Let me try to explain it a little better.