VMware Cloud Community
connector
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

The installer is unable to connect to the vCenter Appliance Management Interface Problem

Hi,

I'm new to vSphere.  It's my first time setting it up and I'm struggling with the appliance install.  I keep getting "The installer is unable to connect to the vCenter Appliance Management Interface" right at the end of step 1.  I'm using v6.5 update 1 and it's a trial license.  I was able to setup one ESXi server (esxi-1), which seems to be working just fine.  I have one windows 10 computer on the same network as the ESXi server.  I have one domain controller (DC-1) on the same network.  It's an isolated network, no outside connection, no gateway (I used 0.0.0.0).  It's all setup using VMware Workstation 14 Pro.  Everything pings and replies like you would expect.  Nslookup works for the windows 10 computer and  DC-1 fine, forward and reverse, from either computer.  The ESXI-1 isn't joined to the domain, but the windows 10 computer is.

I look in the log file and I see this at the end repeating:

2018-03-02T21:49:12.667Z - error: VAMI is NOT accessilbe[24]: https://192.168.6.122:5480/, err: Could not get response for get request from url https://192.168.6.122:5480/: Error: connect ETIMEDOUT 192.168.6.122:5480

2018-03-02T21:49:33.671Z - error: Could not get response for get request from url https://192.168.6.122:5480/: Error: connect ETIMEDOUT 192.168.6.122:5480

2018-03-02T21:49:33.673Z - error: VAMI is NOT accessilbe[25]: https://192.168.6.122:5480/, err: Could not get response for get request from url https://192.168.6.122:5480/: Error: connect ETIMEDOUT 192.168.6.122:5480

2018-03-02T21:49:33.674Z - info: Cancelling the ping timer for session mgmt