VMware Cloud Community
lanwench
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Storage DRS, affinity, datastore clusters... new multi-disk VM has no space

Hello ... I'm new to datastore clusters and am confused about affinity.  We're on 6.5.

Using PowerCLI, I clone a template into a datastore cluster that has enough free GB to accommodate the VM, plus the extra disks I want to add to it after cloning (and I allow for a buffer)

The VM gets created, and then I use New-Harddisk to add the additional drives. It seems that if the datastore on which the cloned VM resides, does not itself have enough space, everything barfs, even though the datastore cluster contains other datastores that *do* have enough space.. if the disks got allocated around.

I guess I assumed that when I picked a cluster, it would be smart enough to figure out which datastores to use for each of the disks. But it appears I don't get it.

How do other people do this? Is there anything I can set at the VM level instead of changing stuff on the cluster, or should that be configured differently?

Thanks!

Paula

LucD​ ... if you happen to see this, I will be most grateful!

4 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Do you have SDRS active for that datastorecluster?

Is Keep VMDKs together active?

Anything mentioned in the SDRS Faults page?

Is there any more info in Task and Events?

Or in the vpxd log?

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

lanwench
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Luc ...

Yes, Storage DRS is enabled for all ds clusters

I just checked and 'keep VMDKs together by default' is enabled.

It's set for 8h imbalance checks and i/o threshold is aggressive.

Minimum space utilization difference is 5%.

Also, Storage DRS automation is set to 'no automation,manual mode' , if that makes any difference.