VMware Cloud Community
Randy_G
Contributor
Contributor

SSH .sh file "operation not permitted"

Thanks for your help!

I'm a instructor at a Community College where we use use ESXi (6.7.0 Update 1 Build 10764712) for IT training. I'm attempting to execute a .sh file to "patch" ESXi to allow installing macOS. I did this last week on the same hardware and ESXi build and the script executed correctly & macOS 13.4.3 installed 100%. Attempting to run the same script today on several servers fails with the error message shown below. (screenshot file attached) 

-sh: ./esxi-install.sh: Operation not permitted

The script and parent folder have permissions -rwxr-xr-x (0755). And I am attempting to run the script at root or as myself with the Administrator role assigned. Using my "good" server as a reference I can't find any difference between servers. 

What am I missing? Seems like a straight-forward error msg. But I am stuck!

Thanks for your help,

Randy Graves

North Idaho College

0 Kudos
8 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

Did you uninstall the previous version in case you had it "installed" ?
Looks like you are user 501 and not root !
Does the line
BootModuleConfig.sh --verbose --add=unlocker.tgz
reference the correct unlocker.tgz ?
This is not supposed to work with AMD

0 Kudos
IRIX201110141
Champion
Champion

Please check the She-Bang in your Shell Script.

Regards,

Joerg

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

It seems very risky and questionable that you should install a "crack" in order to run MacOS on unsupported hardware (thus violating the EULAs of Apple and VMware). Did you get special permission to do this from VMware or something? As you probably know, what you're doing is circumvention as MacOS will not run on anything other than Apple hardware. If I were you, I'd really reconsider this action unless you somehow have a "pass" to do this.

0 Kudos
Randy_G
Contributor
Contributor

Sir,

I want to Thank You for your help!