VMware Cloud Community
l0ad3dr3v0lv3r
Contributor
Contributor

Order of action

Hi all,

I'm new to vSphere and have the following setup:

4 HPE Gen8 servers running ESXi 5.5. Theres is additionally a  SAN connected to these as their datastore.

Recently I was tasked with moving all the VM's on two of these servers and consolidating them on the remaining two servers which I have done successfully. I've also configured the VM's to use local storage as their datastore freeing up the SAN.

The idea here is that they want to pull the two servers and SAN that are now doing nothing out of the rack and use them elsewhere. However, they've also asked me to ensure that all the disks in the SAN have been wiped clean before anything else.

I see that I have a datastore cluster that was configure on this SAN and was wondering if there is any order that I need to follow before blanking the disks (HDD). I've read that I can use the CLI to blank the disks with the following:

# dd if=/dev/zero of=/[mounted-volume]/zeroes && rm -f /[mounted-volume]/zeroes

Is there anything I'm missing? I'm sure there's an order to the steps that I need to preform.

I do appologize in advance if I've missed any critical information or the above doesn't seem to sound right, again, I reiterate....I'm new to vSphere.

Thanks all

0 Kudos
5 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

One second before going there. You say:

Recently I was tasked with moving all the VM's on two of these servers and consolidating them on the remaining two servers which I have done successfully. I've also configured the VM's to use local storage as their datastore freeing up the SAN.

Does this imply that the VMs on what was a 4-node cluster were on SAN-based storage and are being moved to local storage on 2 nodes? If that's correct...why?

0 Kudos
l0ad3dr3v0lv3r
Contributor
Contributor

Hi daphnissov,