VMware Cloud Community
finkmp
Contributor
Contributor

OS Cus Spec File not applying to Virtual Machines

Hi all,

I am relatively new to managing windows but I am trying to automate some of our virtual machine reservation proceses.

We are curently using vSphere Client version 6.5.0.13000.

Currently we have a Windows 10 64-bit 1703 template that we create virtual machines off, then add them to the domain and change their name manually before adding them to our Citrix environment.

I believe the automation of domain joining and name changing can be done through an OS Customization Specification and that is where I am having problems.

Every time I try to apply the OS Cus Spec to the Guest OS the computer restarts shortly after, shows indicators that it is applying the spec file, then applies nothing.

In vSphere I am not getting an error when trying to apply and I have been able to manually join the domain and change the name with the account that I have passed. I tested with just changing the computer name and it looks like the Spec File is just not applied, not necessarily an issue with domain joining.

A Sysprep folder is generated in the C:\ drive of the VM with the backup, executable and xml files.

The setuperr.log in "C:\Windows\System32\Sysprep\Panther" is giving the error "SYSPRP setupdigetclassdevs failed with error 0"

The setupact.log seemed rather long and I wasn't sure what to look for, but I didn't see any areas of failure in a quick scan.

Any assistance on the direction to go would be grateful.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

What version of vSphere (vCenter and ESXi, please, be specific)? How are you specifying the account used for the domain join process in the customization spec?

0 Kudos
finkmp
Contributor
Contributor

We are using vSphere Client version 6.5.0.13000, not exactly sure on ESXi, but I assume it is high enough to support the client.