VMware Cloud Community
NewAndyVM
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

New to VMWare and Virtualization

Hello

I am new to VMWare and Virtualization in general.  I was told at work that there is a product I can download,  run on my Desktop Computer for learning purposes.  (client / server / multiple VMs)

I downloaded Workstation Player but..... i guess this is not the right software.

Can someone please help me  / direct me?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

VMware Player is indeed the correct product, if you are looking for a free hypervisor. Another product - VMware Workstation - offers more features, but requires a paid license.

VMware also offers "VMware Fusion" which however is only for for MAC users.

Please note that these products have certain requirements regarding the host OS, and the hardware (processor).

If you have any issues, or questions, feel free to ask.

André

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

VMware Player is indeed the correct product, if you are looking for a free hypervisor. Another product - VMware Workstation - offers more features, but requires a paid license.

VMware also offers "VMware Fusion" which however is only for for MAC users.

Please note that these products have certain requirements regarding the host OS, and the hardware (processor).

If you have any issues, or questions, feel free to ask.

André

0 Kudos
SupreetK
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

If you want to run multiple VMs at once, you should go with VMware Workstation Pro. With Workstation Player, you can run only one VM.

Download VMware Workstation Player | VMware | IN

Windows VM | VMware Workstation Pro | IN

Comparison between VMware Workstation pro and VMware Workstation player

Cheers,

Supreet

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

SupreetK