VMware Cloud Community
aniros
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Multiple "Disks" on one drive (for MS SQL)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to virtualization world, and I hope to find some answers or at less some orientations to insepct.

I'm dealing with MS SQL databases.

On of best practices in dealing with SQL DBs is the separation between Data and log files, and the the system databases ... on different physical drives.

The thing is easy to make on physical server, witch is not the same thing on virtual environment (Or at less, that is what I think)

If we take a case we have 4 SSD drives, by making an RAID 5, I get one "drive" in vSphere, so how can I get separate drives?

I hope if I have possibility to create some kind of (multiples) virtual partitions on each physical drive and then make a RAID on.

Is that can be possible?

Thank you for precious help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Just think of the virtual harddisks as files, that's all they are anyway. According to the vm they look like separate hard disks,but on the actual datastore they are just files, there are no direct ties to the datastore.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Read 3.8 Virtual Machine Storage Configuration in the below document, as well as the rest of it in general

https://www.vmware.com/content/dam/digitalmarketing/vmware/en/pdf/solutions/sql-server-on-vmware-bes...

0 Kudos
aniros
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi Sjess,

Thank you for your reply.

But, scincerly, I don't understand: there are a plenty of solutions that promise many things but in fact I can't see what I need.

If you have some patient and time to understand my cas:

I have A Proliant dl360e Gen8 with 4 SSD of 800 inside.

A create an array with 160Go to install v Sphere on, and OS next, and finaly SQL Server.