VMware Cloud Community
Broonie27
Contributor
Contributor

Loss of Network Connectivity During Backups

Hi there,

I'm new to VMware so this might seem like a stupid question but when I back up our SQL servers hosted on vSphere 6.5 I am seeing a loss of network connectivity for the VM. The loss can be anywhere between 2 and 15 seconds. We use CommVault for our backups and I'm 99.9% sure that it is using the "quiesce" option when carrying out the pre-backup VSS snapshot.

The SQL servers are in an AlwaysOn cluster so if there is any network disruption between nodes of +10 seconds a fail-over is invoked and that's not something I really want to be happening unless it's planned. I could increase the fail over threshold but I feel that is merely masking the issue.

Further we are seeing application errors during the VSS snapshot period as it can no longer communicate with it's database. This can lead to long running batch jobs completely failing, again something I'd really like to avoid.

So is what I'm seeing expected behavior and if so what is the recommendation for backing up SQL VMs in vSphere? Do we have to block all use of the DB/application during a backup window for example?

If these drops aren't expected how can I stop them?

Cheers

C

0 Kudos
8 Replies
depping
Leadership
Leadership

In some cases the quiescing of VMs takes a while, depending on the size of the VM etc. What kind of IO is the VM doing?

0 Kudos
depping
Leadership
Leadership

Also, have you enabled the "File System and Application Consistent" option for Commvault?

0 Kudos
Broonie27
Contributor
Contributor

The VM is a SQL server with several disks for logs, DB, tempDB etc . However the only disks being backed up by CommVault are for the OS (45GB) and one used for SQL backups (350GB).

Most of the I/O would be reads and writes to the DB and logs which aren't being backed up and therefore not quiesced.

0 Kudos
Broonie27
Contributor
Contributor