VMware Cloud Community
ExceedingLife
Contributor
Contributor

Increase Storage DataStore no LUN ID

Hello all,

I thought this would be an extremely easy process but its appearing not to be. I am a new VMware VSphere Administrator the old user that did all of this left the company. I have increased VM Hard Drives in the past added resources etc.

Well I have a VM its our File Server, this VM has 9 drives, 2 of them at actually on the VM itself and the rest are in its own datastore as it looks to me. Well the drives are running out of space and I am trying to increase the space from our SAN to this DataStore that is on the VM.

When I right click on filedatastore and click "Increase Datastore Capacity" it opens and then its searching for "Select Disk/LUN" and nothing appears when its done loading. After all the examples I look at online here a disk or LUN should appear then you can easily add more storage to the datastore.

There must be some steps I am missing or I am completely doing this the wrong way. 

Would anyone like to help me out with this question? I can add any extra information that is needed. I have 4 main SANS and when I click on one of the SAN Datastores actually the same thing happens, no disks/LUNs load to be selected. So maybe my environment is setup different

We are using VSphere vcenter67

Thank you

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I have reported your post to the moderators, since it needs moving to the area for vSphere.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
e_espinel
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hello.
If your VM has disks on an External SAN (Storage), you should increase the space on the Lun or Luns where these disks are located.