VMware Cloud Community
caseyandgina
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Does vSphere need API manually enabled or is a license required?

Hi, I'm quite new to vSphere - I have set up the free version of vSphere 6.7 on a machine and set up a few VM's manually.  So far so good...

I'm now attempting to use some software that should work with vSphere's API, but it appears to be failing to successfully call the API.  This is somewhat of a guess I'm also new to this software (GitHub - chef/kitchen-vcenter: A test-kitchen driver for vCenter REST API ) and the debugging is not very good, but the debug log indicates that it is failing when it attempts to create a VM with an API call.

I wondered if there's a simple way I can manually check that the API is working as it should be, or perhaps there's just a configuration option I need to enable somewhere.  Or maybe this is only available in a paid version?

Thanks in advance for any insight!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

the rest api needs vcenter, see the name in the link you added, vsphere is not the same thing as vcenter. vCenter is not free, and requires a license. What you installed was esxi, vsphere is more esxi and vcenter combined

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

the rest api needs vcenter, see the name in the link you added, vsphere is not the same thing as vcenter. vCenter is not free, and requires a license. What you installed was esxi, vsphere is more esxi and vcenter combined

0 Kudos
caseyandgina
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

The link lists this requirement actually, not just vCenter:

• VMware vCenter/vSphere 5.5 or higher
0 Kudos
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

vcenter is a component of vsphere. Look at this it explains it

VMware vSphere: Cheat sheet - TechRepublic