VMware Cloud Community
imgs
Contributor
Contributor

Disassociate host from vCenter Server...

Hello,

I have a new customer with two VMware ESXi 6 hosts which are/were managed by vCenter. Nobody knows the password to login to vCenter but we can login to the two hosts.

There's an option to 'Disassociate host from vCenter Server...' on the two hosts in vSphere Client. If I use this option and then delete the vCenter VM, can I install a fresh vCenter VM and connect the two ESXi hosts to it?

I'm no VMware expert and don't want to mess up the hosts.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
msripada
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

If you do not know the password to login to vcenter.. are you referring to login to the vcenter windows login or appliance login? or is it a login to account to connect to the client?

You can reset the sso account using the below KB

VMware Knowledge Base

Thanks,

MS

0 Kudos
affy1392
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

Yes, you can but before decomm the vCenter VM better to check the PSC administrator password if you have then you can use it login if your vCenter not integrated with AD, If your VC integrated then you can use to login using your AD account.

If no luck on above then you may reinstall the the VC again keep the track of credential on the shared secure portal where you and other resources can access in such cases.

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

yes, you can basically do this. You could even add the hosts to a new vCenter Server without disassociating them from the old vCenter Server.

Anyway, without knowing which features are in use, it's hard to give you an advice.

I would likely try to reset the password(s) in such a case, rather than reinstalling? Did you already try to reset the password(s)?

Which vCenter Version is installed? Is it the Windows vCenter Server, or the Virtual Appliance?

André

imgs
Contributor
Contributor

Hello All,