VMware Cloud Community
jamesnb1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Dell PowerEdge server reboot itself

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to vSphere and vCenter so thank you in advance for your patience.

I recently install ESXi 7.0 and vSphere Client on our PowerEdge server, using dual-SD card module (128GB sandisk - raid 1) and install the latest DellEMC image from VMware

VMware esxi version: 7.0.2, 17867351

vCenter version: 7.0.2.00200 build number 17958471, patch name: VC-7.0U2b

Server hardware:

1/ Dual xeon silver processors

2/ 64GB RAM

3/ 2 x RAID 1, one for the system and one for the data

4/ Dual SD-card module, with 2 x 128 sandisk extreme (for installation of ESXi 7.0)

Everything works just fine. Except the following

1/ The server seems to boot iself after a while. The first time it did was every other days. Then we reinstalled it and this time, it ran for about 8 days before did another reboot itself again

2/ The time cannot be adjusted: It always use the UTC timezone even after I tried to set the time to manual or using ntp auto auto update.

3/ VCSA always said the machine is low on RAM while the RAM utilization is only less than half (30GB) with all VM (6) on

Dell support said that this is known bug from VMware ESXi that installed on SD card is not reliable with this version 7.0 at the moment

Anyone else experience this?

Thank you very much in advance

0 Kudos
7 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

There's indeed an issue with SD cards in current ESXi versions. However, that may or may not be the reason for the reboots. ESXi usually stops with a PSOD (Purple Scree Of Diagnostics) rather than rebooting itself on errors.

1. Please check the Dell server's iDRAC logs for related entries
  2. ESXi always runs on UTC. The displayed time gets adjusted (for most screens) in the GUI depending on the client's time zone.
  3. What exactly is it that shows the high utilization? The ESXi host, a single VM? Please provide some details.

André

jamesnb1
Enthusiast