VMware Cloud Community
Herry_Lie
Contributor
Contributor

Configure Email alerts in vCenter 6.5 but cannot send email

Hi,

I'm trying to configure an email alert for vCenter 6.5 server alarm but the email alert cannot send the email to user.

I have configured the "email server" and "email sender", "SMTP server" and "SMTP credentials" for the email sender email.

After that I create an alert trigger for testing purpose.

But when the error occured, I didn't receive any email notification. After that I check the vCenter event log. The log said "cannot send email to testing@testemail.com".

I already check the VMware KB for configuring email alerts on VMware vCenter but the vCenter still cannot send any email.

Can anyone tell me if there another step that i missed when configure email alert on VMware vCenter 6.5?

This is my first time setting an email alert in vCenter Server

Thank You

Sorry for my bad english

13 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

How is your SMTP server configured to accept relays? Is it on the default port? Does it require authentication? You likely have some special configuration that's required which is why it's failing.

0 Kudos
Herry_Lie
Contributor
Contributor

Hi daphnissov

Thanks for your reply

I used port 25 for the smtp server. And yes it require the authentication for the smtp user email. I already test the email alert on another monitoring software like dell open manage essentials and its work using the same configuration. About the SMTP server accept relay i think i have to discuss it with the email administrator.

0 Kudos
Finikiez
Champion
Champion

You need to check vpxd.log on your vcenter server for the time when you see the error in Events. There should be some additional information.

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

vCenter Server does not support authentication with SMTP using SSL/TLS, so that's probably your issue.

0 Kudos
Herry_Lie
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Finikiez