VMware Cloud Community
Nik0tine
Contributor
Contributor

Cloning ESXI VMs / Network / Datastore

First let me preface this will saying I am no expert to VMware. I've worked with virtual machines in the past, but my terminology may not be correct and for that I apologize. I work for a private tollway, and currently we are trying to develop ways to optimize programming our ESXI servers and VMs that control our toll gantries. As it stands now, when one crashes, it can take almost 3-4 hours from start to finish to reprogram one. We are trying to simply clone each of our gantries so that if a certain one crashes all that will have to be done is to reload the clone on the RAID. I've been tinkering around with vsphere, and workstation, but I keep getting an error on workstation that states I cannot clone a remote or shared VM. Since these VMs are set up through ESXI and technically are remotely set up, how do we go about cloning a datastore, NRG network and VMs, what would be the VM software to do this? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

8 Replies
ThompsG
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi there and welcome to the community Smiley Happy

I'm going to make the assumption you don't have vCenter otherwise you could use this to clone the VMs. Another option to look at would be this: VMware vCenter Converter: P2V Virtual Machine Converter https://www.vmware.com/products/converter.html

Kind regards.

0 Kudos
rajen450m
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi Nik,

Cloning is not a best suitable option for your case. Cloning will not have exact data before the server crash, so it is good to have a backup solution in place.

If you are trying to minimise the time to build the VMs and application irrespective of the data, you can create a clone after OS & Application configuration, but still you need vcenter to clone VM.

Please try to Install vcenter and add one more ESXi and configure HA cluster to protect your VMs.

Regards,