VMware Cloud Community
DespicableYO
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Assign vCPU cores

Hi, I am new to VMWare. I have a Dell T440 Dual Socket supported Server with Single 8Core/16Thread Xeon Processor. I want to assign the maximum number of CPUs to a single machine. I read somewhere that one core equals approximately two vCPU, which means I can assign up to 16 vCPUs. But I am not sure about it. Can you please suggest, how much maximum number of CPUs that I can assign to my single VM with 8C/16T processor.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IRIX201110141
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Your 8 cores together with Hypertreading gives 16 HEC(hardware execution context) where a VMM (virtual machine monitor) can be placed which ends up to 16 logical CPU.

• So you can create a VM with up to 16 vCPUs
  • You can create and (technically) run multiple 16 vCPUs VMs
  • Choose N vCores and 1 Socket
  • There is no performance difference betwwen vCores or vSockets. It have to do with license within the GuestOS. A windows Guest OS only supports 2 Sockets for example
  • HT gives not the double performance. In larger farms it gives up to 23 percent more performance and it depends on the application
  • The ESXi needs a little bit CPU also. So assign not all available vCPU to your one VM

In short... there is no big difference between a OS installation on bar metal compared to a VM on a hypervisor on your single Host.

Best practices is only to assign these resources to a VM which can be allocated and use by the Application/Workload and not more.

Regards,

Joerg

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
2 Replies
IRIX201110141
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Your 8 cores together with Hypertreading gives 16 HEC(hardware execution context) where a VMM (virtual machine monitor) can be placed which ends up to 16 logical CPU.

• So you can create a VM with up to 16 vCPUs
  • You can create and (technically) run multiple 16 vCPUs VMs