lee1
Contributor
Contributor

After reverting back to snapshot, (it works) but snapshot still show up

After reverting back to snapshot,  the server powers of,  I power it on and the it is at the expected point but the snapshot still show up in snapshot manager, i thought it would go way?  

pastedImage_0.png

0 Kudos
3 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

No, because you're simply returning to that point in time, not doing so and then deleting (committing) it. Those are two separate operations.

0 Kudos
lee1
Contributor
Contributor

To be clear, revert back to snapshot,  verify it worked,   then delete the snapshot?  My confusion is when you delete a snapshot with out reverting it removed the snapshot and merges your changes into the vm.

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

To be clear, revert back to snapshot,  verify it worked,   then delete the snapshot?

Yes

My confusion is when you delete a snapshot with out reverting it removed the snapshot and merges your changes into the vm.

Because you're committing the changes made up to that point. When you revert to an existing snapshot, there is no commitment going on, only restoring an existing state.