VMware Cloud Community
Radames2019
Contributor
Contributor

Advice for a SmallBusiness Domain and VSphere

Hi,

I'm newbie here, and I ask your help because...

I'm planning to renew my old SBS2011 domain:

20 users, 20 PCs, 20 mailboxes

about 300Gb of network data

about 30Gb of exchange data

In my mind Vsphere 6.7 on a new server (1x Xeon 6230 - 192Gb RAM - 4x1Tb SSD-SAS in RAID10),

The new server has 4port 1Gb NIC, I'd like to team them 2+2 (team+failover).

I'd like to create from scratch 3 VMs with Server2019std (S1=DC+FileServer, S2=Exchange2019, S3=Applications)

I think this HW is good enough, do you agree?

I have more doubts about internal storage, i'm thinking to

64Gb for host partitioned in the RAID10 array (shared with VM)

and I'ld like to assign 600Gb for S1, 200Gb for S2 and 100Gb for S3

but i'm not sure if it is better to keep (for ex) :

S1: Windows and network data in the same "volume C:"

or to create two "volumes" of S1: 100Gb C: (WIN) + 500Gb 😧 (DATA)

or another solution that is more easy to manage and to backup.

Same doubt for S2 and the mailbox database, of course.

What do you suggest?

Thank you very much

and sorry for my english!

Tags (3)
11 Replies
Biemer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The hardware is good, I don't know which brand it is but we have Dell server with mirror SD cards of 32GB for ESXi and this works fine.

For the VMs part, I always use at one disk for OS and one for data.

Consider marking this response as "Correct" or "Helpful" if you think my response helped you in any way.
Radames2019
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for answer,

I don't understand the host running on raided SDs,

isn't better (and safe) to run from the SSD-RAID10?

Some disadvantages I don't see?

Thanx again!

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Mirrored SDs is a pretty common deployment choice. ESXi doesn’t need large storage for itself, and you want best possible performance (and room to grow) for your VMs.

ESXi Hardware Requirements