VMware Cloud Community
sunomis
Contributor
Contributor

vSAN in 2Host Cluster??

Hi,

First of all im rather new to vmware, currently running a ESX 5.5 server with local storage with 4 non critical guests with great success

Its time for us to update sevral of our servers so we are talking about going for vmware and virtulize them instead. Questions were raised about how we should do it best way, and as allways we have a budget that is quite tight. We do allow some downtime, only requirement is that we can get back online as soon as human possible, today we have identical servers that we need to startup.

To start with we are going to host between 8-12vms (will probaly grow in the future). For this we were thinking to get 2x Dell poweredge 730, 256gb ram, 1x400gb SSD 2x1.2TB Spinning. 1CPU 16C/32T (best license wise?, Windows 2016 Datacenter=Cores and vmware=CPU Socket), NIC Ports 4x 1GBE 2x 10GBE

Our Initial plan was to use them as two invidual hosts (aka no cluster or shared storage) issue is going to be to keep the vms updated on the "offline" host. Ive started to lean against vSAN with a 2host cluster, hybrid disk solution, and use vmware witness appliance.

Seeking advice on whats the best possible solution?

When using 2host cluster if i set FTT=1 one can go down And without impact right?

HDDs: Do i do RAID1 (or RAID10, requires more disk ofc) on each host before adding them to vSAN storage or do i just run them as individual hdds?

If going for hardware spec above i will require 2x vSAN standard license and for Essentials (no VM-HA and so on) or Essentials Plus?

vmnetwork and vSAN will be using the 10GBE NIC ports

Br

Simon

5 Replies
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

Hello Simon,

Firstly, welcome to Communities and using VMware products, pop in when you can!

Configuration: