VMware Cloud Community
VMbkota
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vSAN cluster : Slack space for 3-Node - need help

Hello All,

I am new with vSAN and I got lost with the slack space, as I know VMware recommends (25-30%) a slack space, but checking some of the clusters at my work I can see there are a different percentage of the slack space, which is why I got lost, an example from one of the clusters

vSAN Cluster A :

Total 16 VMs and the storage for these VMs are (4,556.0 GB) let’s say 5TB, the setting is RAID-1 and FTT-1 policy so storage will be 5 TB*2 = 10 TB

Checking vROps I can see the slack space is (1,77.002 GB) which is less than 20%, so I would like to know how the slack space works?

Why it’s not (25-30%)?

Please, can someone give me the full explanation for that?

VMbkota_0-1652486498026.png

VMbkota_1-1652486498029.png

Storage Policy

VMbkota_2-1652486498034.png

vSAN cluster

VMbkota_3-1652486498038.png

VMbkota_4-1652486498044.png

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Reply
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

@VMbkota, how much slack space is advised or required in a cluster varies on a lot of factors. 

Some main points that you should consider:

- The capabilities and/or limitations of your cluster layout.

- What type of scenarios do you need or want the data to be able to heal back to a redundant state (and how many times and in what timespans etc.).

- The current and expected future footprint of the storage space (and accounting for any temporary or transient usage).