VMware Cloud Community
gepit68
Contributor
Contributor

update vcenter - esxi host in a vsan environment

Hi All,

I am new in this community. I am not an expert in VMWare technology so please be passion with me. Currently working in a company running vmWare with VSAN. I have a task to update Vcenter, Esxi Host to a new version, they were running version

ESXI Hosts Version: 6.7.0.11675023

VCSA: 6.7.0.2000

New Version: 6.7.0,15160138

VCSA: 6.7.0.32000

VSANHealth version: 6.7.0-3.89.14840358

So far I have updated vcsa and esxi. The question I have do I need to update VSAN to a newer version same as vcsa and hosts? Currently Cluster\ VSAN Health Check showing a few red question mark as:

Network

* Hosts with connectivity issues ( I have double check connectiviy Host - VCSA and it is fine)

* All hosts have a VSAN vmknic configured

Physical disk

* Physical disk health retrieval issues

Data

* vSAN object health

Cluster

* ESXi vSAN Health service installation

* vSAN Health Service up-to-date

* vSAN CLOMD liveness

* vSAN cluster configuration consistency

* Software version compatibility

* Disk format version

vSAN iSCI target service

* Home Object

Another thing is VSAN\Disk Management has a yellow warning with All 62 disk on version 7.0

I have double check the version of vsanhealth on all of ESXi hosts and are consistent with version 6.7.0-3.89.14840358.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

9 Replies
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

Hello gepit68

Welcome to Communities (and vSAN and VMware :smileygrin: ).

"do I need to update VSAN to a newer version same as vcsa and hosts?"

No - vSAN is part of ESXi and thus gets updated when ESXi is updated.