VMware Cloud Community
Andre1978
Contributor
Contributor

nvme namespace creation samsung PM1735 ssd

Hello,

In my lab setup I have two hosts with 4x960GB sas ssd's. I also have in each host a samsung PM1735 SSD currently not configured yet.For test purposes I would like to carve up my PM1735 SSD into multiple namespaces in a lab environment. So that vmware sees them as 4 individual disks / namespaces with 800GB capacity each..

I am not really an expert in the esxcli command line interface. 
What command should I used to create those 4 individual namespaces of 800GB on each host?
What command should I use to attach those 4 individual namespaces of 800GB on each host?
Would you use the samsung ssd just for caching purposes in a full flash setup? Or also as a capacity tier?
I hope some experienced vmware vsan admin can help me out here with the cli commands. Thanks.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
depping
Leadership
Leadership

Unfortunately namespaces are not supported.

0 Kudos
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

@Andre1978 , Do note what Duncan said above regarding this being unsupported - only consider doing this if this is a lab and there is no data on it you even remotely care about.

All of the necessary commands (namely create and attach) are here:
https://code.vmware.com/docs/11743/esxi-7-0-esxcli-command-reference/namespace/esxcli_nvme.html 

Examples of the syntax usage of the create and attach commands can be found here:
https://www.micron.com/about/blog/2019/september/vmware-vsan-nvme-namespace-magic-split-1-ssd-into-2...e

0 Kudos
lili_Wang
Contributor
Contributor

你好,请问你的PM1735 SSD,在VSAN 6.7U3环境下,固件识别是正常的么

0 Kudos
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

@lili_Wang Please note that this is an English-speaking sub-community - if you want to discuss topics in your native language then use the sub-community for that language (or translate your posts before posting them and post them in vSAN sub-community).

From Google translate: