VMware Cloud Community
janakors
Contributor
Contributor

breaking Vsan from cluster

hi everyone

i am new to vSAN and wanted to seek help on one of the issue. i want to break my VSAN undelying on 4 blades. these 4 baldes are on single cluster .so what is the deatil procedure to do so if please someone suggest some document to read first and then come to this forum please recommend.

Thank You in advance

0 Kudos
14 Replies
T180985
Expert
Expert

What do you mean you want to break it? Are you wanting to stop using vSAN?

Please mark helpful or correct if my answer resolved your issue. How to post effectively on VMTN https://communities.vmware.com/people/daphnissov/blog/2018/12/05/how-to-ask-for-help-on-tech-forums
0 Kudos
MikeStoica
Expert
Expert

What exactly you want to do? You want to create a vSAN cluster out of the 4 Blades?

0 Kudos
janakors
Contributor
Contributor

no i want free my 4 physical blades from Vsan. i dont want to use vSAN for these blades i.e i need to put it in mainatenance mode and after pre check i will fully migrate

0 Kudos
T180985
Expert
Expert

See this kb which explains how to do it  VMware Knowledge Base

Please mark helpful or correct if my answer resolved your issue. How to post effectively on VMTN https://communities.vmware.com/people/daphnissov/blog/2018/12/05/how-to-ask-for-help-on-tech-forums
0 Kudos
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

Hello janakors

Unfortunately what T180985  mentioned won't work here as that is the process for decommissioning a single node, not a cluster - If you tried that here (assuming RAID1 Storage Policy and enough  free space), it would just evacuate the first nodes data onto the remaining 3 nodes and then when you try to do another node it would fail and inform you it has insufficient Fault Domains to proceed with this task.

Do you have any data you need on the vsanDatastore? If you do, where are you planning on moving this to? e.g. to a SAN/external datastore or local VMFS datastores made with the vSAN disks.