VMware Cloud Community
Anchie
Contributor
Contributor

HCIBench best practices

Hey all,

Would anyone be able to share some HCIBench performance best practices? I am new to VMWare world and started using HCIBench recently but getting such crappy performance Smiley Sad

I am trying to figure out the best ratio of VMs to VMDKs and the sizes, queue depths, etc. I have 1 large datastore (8TB) that I am testing against and I have tried from 4 to 32 VMs on it, with equal or half the amount of VMDKs and was playing with queue depths, from 32 to 8.

When I say crappy I mean, I had latencies over 200ms on average, to best case 1.5ms. But I think it can do better than that Smiley Happy Would anyone have any recommendations for this? Any links or documentation you have for me to do some reading? And here I am only trying to get the best performance, so please disregard any rules regarding  maintenance and all that.

Tags (2)
3 Replies
TheBobkin
Champion
Champion

Hello @Anchie,

Welcome to Communities.

"I am new to VMWare world"

This forum is a good place to ask questions, storagehub.vmware.com/t/vmware-vsan/ is good for basic to in-depth vSAN information and labs.hol.vmware.com is a great resource for getting hands-on with creating/smashing clusters.

"started using HCIBench recently but getting such crappy performance "

What are you running this on?

There will obviously be a stark difference between a 4-node All-flash cluster with 2TB storage each spread over 2x 1TB disks with a decent sized (600GB) cache-tier device vs a 2-node Hybrid stretched-cluster with each node having 1x 4TB capacity-tier drive and a 200GB cache-tier device.

The goal of using HCIBench is not to achieve a 'high-score' but to get an estimate of the capabilities of a cluster - what workloads it performs well at and can handle, and what it cannot.

If the thing is falling apart on easy-run then maybe you need to consider the design of the cluster and whether it is fit for purpose.