VMware Cloud Community
cluey
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

HA Isolation response with vSAN

Hi everyone, hopefully someone can offer some advice on this.

I'm new to vSAN but trying to get some design decisions together for HA clusters in a vSAN environment. Our environment (in short0 is as follows:

• 8 node cluster
  • All nodes have storage and participate in the vSAN
  • n+1 resilience required
  • HA/DRS required
  • dual, 10Gbe NICs will be used for all traffic (with NIOC shares configured for QoS)
  • VMFS datastore (shared across all hosts) will be used for templates, ISO's etc.

Question is, I'm struggling a little on some aspects of isolation response. There are some good articles out there and I'd say I understand 80-90% of it. In our scenario, if a host were to become isolated, then HA heartbeats (over the vSAN network) would fail and the isolation response would be triggered, that's fine (in our scenario power off/shutdown I guess would be best option as VM's would have lost all network access too).

Question is, how does having a VMFS datastore available to all hosts in the cluster (that HA would configure for Datastore heartbeats) change the decision for what isolation response use?

Also, if there are, say, two hosts that become partitioned form the other cluster hosts, the isolation response wouldn't be triggered on those two hosts as they would simply elect a new master and continue to operate (along with the VMs running on those hosts). However, the other hosts (lets say 6 of them) that are now in their own partition can't see the other two hosts and they initiate the HA response (restarting the VM's from the other two hosts). What strategy needs to be in place to deal with this?

Thanks in advance.

Andy

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
depping
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hi there, good question. Lets go over this.