VMware Cloud Community
ManivelR
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

vCloud director 9.1 new installation for production

Hi Guys,

I'm a beginner of this vCloud director 9.1

What are all the requirements of new vCloud director installation.

1) New VM with RHEL or Centos(to install DB like SQL,Oracle or Postgress DB).

2) New linux VM for vCloud director bundle installation & NSX bundle installation.

Am i right? only 2 Linux VMs are ok to proceed ?

As part of vCloud director installation,there is no vShield manager or vCNS are required now ?

Please confirm.

Could you please give me the good article with all the steps to install all of these?

Thank you,

Manivel R

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
paluszekd
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi Manivel,

NSX Edge Services will be completely separate from your second CentOS VM. You will need to download the NSX Manager bits from VMware Downloads and deploy that OVF. From there, register it to your PSC and vCenter. Once that is complete, during the installation and setup of vCD, it will prompt you for the NSX particulars, including the FQDN of the Manager.

Thanks,

-Daniel

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
paluszekd
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi Manivel -

Graham does a great job with a step by step guide of setting up vCD 9.x - Building the Cloud with vCloud Director 9.0 – A-Z – VirtualG.uk

I suggest using Postgres. You will need Cassandra for metrics too, here's a guide by Anthony Spiteri - https://anthonyspiteri.net/configuring-cassandra-for-vcloud-director-9-0-metrics/

If this is a lab environment, one could install this all on a single Linux VM. However, for production state, I suggest splitting these apart and utilizing multiple cells (vCD), nodes (Cassandra), and HA or clustering (Postgres).

Hope this helps!

-Daniel

0 Kudos
ManivelR
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Thanks so much.

I'm going to propose this setup.