VMware Cloud Community
QuincySanders
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vApp's intermittently wont start - Unable to deploy network...

I have a catalog item that was published to be an identical copy. It has two vm's and an internal vApp network that is NATd and Firewalled. I'm an org admin, User A and User B are both vApp Authors. When User A deploys this item and tries to power it on, this is the error that's received:

Unable to deploy network "TLX Internal(urn:uuid:ba517443-bb68-43f6-b10a-bde8f8df8003)".

1. com.vmware.ssdc.util.LMException: DV portgroup dvs.VCDVSTLX Internal-ba517443-bb68-43f6-b10a-bde8f8df8003 is not found in the inventory after creation

- com.vmware.ssdc.util.LMException: DV portgroup dvs.VCDVSTLX Internal-ba517443-bb68-43f6-b10a-bde8f8df8003 is not found in the inventory after creation

- DV portgroup dvs.VCDVSTLX Internal-ba517443-bb68-43f6-b10a-bde8f8df8003 is not found in the inventory after creation

If I, as an org admin, attempt to power this on, I get the same error message HOWEVER if I have  User A deploy this vApp and leave it in a powered off state, I CAN power it on successfully.

User B can deploy and power on this exact same vApp with no problem at all.

What gives?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IamTHEvilONE
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Also, that KB is out of date.  I think the issue was fixed in 5.5.3 per this release note:

• Attempts to power on a vApp sometimes fail with a distributed port group error
    When you attempt to power on a vApp, the operation sometimes fails with an error similar to the following.
    DV portgroup is not found in the inventory after creation.This issue is resolved in vCloud Director 5.5.3.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
IamTHEvilONE
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Are the users deploying to two different Org vDCs/vCenters?

Also is the Network Pool backing the person having a failure VXLAN based?