VMware Cloud Community
xianmacx
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCD network to Vsphere network mapping

Hello,

So I am new to VCD and trying to understand the best practice on how to map vcd networks back to vsphere networking.

I'll start with the external Network.

In my vsphere network I already have a distributed with multiple production port groups.  This distributed switch is backed by 2 pnics from each host.  The pnics connect to trunked pswitch ports that allows traffic on all those vlans.

To setup my external vcd network.  Should I start with a whole new Distributed Switch with dedicated port groups for vcd?  If so, I guess I would need to dedicate pnics to this new dvs?  I am assuming this new "External Network" should have no access to my production networks?

So this is what I am thinking.

1.  New DS with a pnic connected to my cisco switch.

2.  Set up a single vlan on that pswitch port that just goes out through my firewall to the internet.

3.  Creat the port group on that new Distributed switch

3.  Create my vcd External Network to use that port group that only has access to the vlan that goes out to the internet.  No connectivity to my production vsphere network?

Again, I am new to vcd so feel free to offer a completely different solution.  I am tryin to understand how the vsphere networking should be setup to back those vcd networks.

Thanks in advance,
Ian  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
cfor
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Let me start by asking what the goal of this cloud is.  Is it to run systems for yourself, or for other entitys (like other companies).

He is a quick setup that I think will works for many people, or at least as a starting place to get an idea how it goes toghether. I used it in a small cloud set that was a private cloud, it worked well for the needs so might help in giving you a start.

In VCenter

Single DVS

4 uplink nics on DVS

dvPortGroup for VMKernel/VMotion name "VMotion" VLAN 11