VMware Cloud Community
kienast
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Fresh install of vCloud Director 1.5 fails to set up ESXi 5.1.0 hosts

Hello dear community .

I have the following error message when  trying to create a 'Provider-VDC' on my freshly installed vCloud director appliance :

"Could not retrieve state for sequence: seq_os".

This is a lab/evaluation/proof of concept environment :

- 3 Esxi host 5.1.0 build 799733 running under workstation

- Vcloud director running on Centos 6.4 64 bits . The version of vcloud director is 1.5.0.464915

- Microssoft sql database 2008 r2 .

-vcenter virtual appliance 5.1.0

I already fin this thread here http://communities.vmware.com/thread/327222?start=0 but not sure if the fix described in this thread will do the trick in my case . I am also a complete newby in SQL database and I am having trouble to add a new entry to the [os_id] table , which is more or less the workaround described in the thread .

Any help will be appreciated ,

Thanks

Da

0 Kudos
17 Replies
TimLawrence
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

I am out of the office this week. If you need assistance in my absense please contact:

Charles.llewellyn@eduserv.org.uk

Thanks,

Tim

0 Kudos
IamTHEvilONE
Immortal
Immortal

vCloud Director 1.5 doesn't support ESXi 5.1 hosts.

0 Kudos
IamTHEvilONE
Immortal
Immortal

you should upgrade for 2 reasons:

1. it'll fix the SEQ_OS error (you need to go to at least 1.5.1 or higher)

2. go to at least 5.1.x to support vCenter 5.1/ESXi 5.1

0 Kudos
kienast
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

hello,

I am using the virtual appliance of vCloud director , freshly downloaded from the vmware website "vCloud-Director-VA-T2-5.1.2.0-1069180_OVF10" .

So I think I am indeed using vcloud director version 5.1.2 but still I am getting this issue ....

Any idea ?

thanks

0 Kudos
IamTHEvilONE
Immortal
Immortal

SEQ_OS issues should happen with a MS SQL db for 1.5.0, and was fixed in 1.5.1 and newer.