VMware Cloud Community
DerrickKarimi
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Failures occured during prepare of host "x.x.x.x"

I am brand new to vmware, and trying to setup the vCloud appliance and follow the evaluation guide.

When I add a host to vCloud director, it fails to prepare the host.  I am adding it by ip-address.  I can ssh from the cVloud machine to the host using the same ip, username, and password.

Some other error text it says:

" - The VirtualCenter operation has taken too long (600.00 seconds). vCloud Director considers this operation timed out."

Others have posted the same error, but there problem was usually dns related, I am using the IPs.

I don't know what logs to look at on the host or on the vCloud machine to get any more specific information about why it is failing.

I see a similar message when I do something like take too long to accept a certificate when I connect a vSphere to a host.  So I thought maybe it was something to do with the two machines secure communications, but I don't know how to get that setup.

I would appreciate any help anyone would care to lend.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Michelle_Laveri
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

I've had exactly the same experience. vCD does attempt to put ALL the host in the target Provider vDC into maintanance mode, and doesn't stage them. I think that would be a better approach - so it would put one or more hosts into maint mode, install the agent, and do the next... until the cluster was completed. I ended up doing 2 at time manually...