VMware Cloud Community
dannyger97
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESX 6 no VM Network Access in vCloud

Hello,

I'm a student in the Netherlands. I study IT and to learn about ESX, VDI, RDS etc. we use vCloud to provide us with a test environment to install such applications and hypervisors.

Because i have no homelab i'm using vCloud to learn about VDI. The process i took was install ESX in a vApp with Open-E DSS as iSCSI storage. The ESX installation completed like it should and from the Windows Server 2012 VM in the vApp i was trying to push vCenter as a VM on a ESX host. It installed like it should and i got an ip + port number to access the page. Unfortunately I couldn't access the vCenter page neither could I ping the VM. I can access my ESX through the vSphere application.

What have i tried:

- Install multiple NIC's on the VM. I used different Network Adapters like E1000 or VMXNET3 but that didnt work.

- Install a Windows 8 VM to see if it was a vCenter 6 problem in vCloud. Neither the W8 VM got network access.

I think it's a restriction in vCloud that the network administrator doesn't know about yet. This is the first year they have been using vCloud as a working environment for all the students.

Does any of you smart people have a suggestion on what's going wrong here?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IamTHEvilONE
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

0 Kudos
5 Replies
KevinFahey
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi,

I would check the portgroup that the ESXi vm is connected to.  Edit the settings of the portgroup and select security.  Make sure all 3 are set to accept. "Promiscuous Mode, MAC Address Changes, and Forged Transmits".  I know you only need 2 of the 3 but can't remember at the moment which 2 they are Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
dannyger97
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Already tried that.

Doesn't work. Did a reboot after the update on the ESX host but no luck Smiley Sad

0 Kudos
dannyger97
Contributor