VMware Cloud Community
amarcy
Contributor
Contributor

Cannot import user into org via LDAP

Hello, I am a bit new to VCD so please pardon my ignorance.  I'm working in a test lab w/ a full install of VCD (5.1) and CentOS 6.3.  My problem is that while I am able to import users into VCD at the "<FQDN>/cloud" level, I cannot import users at the organizational "<FQDN>/cloud/org/orgname" level.  I get the following error:  "error searching in a groups or users identity source."  Oddly enough, I can add an AD group, but I still can't login with that user so that it may create/add the user account for me.  Perhaps I'm misunderstanding how users/groups works in VCD?

Any help is appreciated. I can provide log files if necessary.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
amarcy
Contributor
Contributor

Sorry to bump my own thread, but has anyone encountered this error message?

0 Kudos
amarcy
Contributor
Contributor

I still haven't found a solution, but I think the problem has to do with AD groups not being recognized correctly.  In our AD environment, we are using simple authentication and don't use SSL.  When I log into VCD at the root level, I am able to add AD users/groups; when I log in to VCD at the organizational level, I can only add groups but can't add users.  FWIW, I'm logging in with a system administrator account.

Again, I get the following error message when trying to import AD groups at the organizational level:  "error searching in a groups or users identity source."

Can anyone tell me what this error means?

0 Kudos
amarcy
Contributor
Contributor