VMware Cloud Community
the_xploit
Contributor
Contributor

vCenter Database full after a few days

Hey

I'm really new to VMware and just set up vCenter Server. Everything ran fine until vCenter was not reachable anymore.

The reason: my Transaction Log is full (it was 9.9GB of 10GB max space available for free MS SQL Express version). The solution from VMware is:

- shrink DB

- shrink Files

- set Recovery Mode to Simple

- set retention policy to min. to have DB as small as possible

i did all of it and had a few problem-free days. But then i created some clones => DB full (_not_transaction log), vcenter dead

i did all of it again.... and retried to create a clone => transaction Log full, vcenter dead

i did it again... all good when not cloning.... i gave up on cloning and found another workaround. Today i came to the office and vCenter is dead another time... Why? Transaction Log full (without doing anything!!).

what the hack am i doing wrong? The aim is to have a vCenter that runs without me cleaning the DB every few days...

Since i shrinked the DB only TransactionLog creates problems. so DB itself (with retention policy!?) seems to work but TL is still full from time to time.. So Question for me is how i can prevent the TransactionLog from getting full?

Any help is appreciated!

<hateing>

I dont have vCenter for any Logs or crap i just want to manage my ESXi servers from there!! Imagine your ESXi would crash if his log is full!! What logic is that!

So where can i choose between "a longterm running vCente without logs" or "a vCenter that will be down every few days (but you have the logs!!)"? ^^

// what could be better in my point of view //

mySQL over MS SQL => why there is no mySQL driver?? its free that's why!? capitalism!?

limit in MB over retention policy => a retention policy can safe you from growing DB but i does not have to. A limit in MB would do it always

</hateing>

31 Replies
schepp
Leadership
Leadership

Hi,