Contributor
Jump to solution

vCenter 5.0 Rebuild

Setup: All vCenter/vSphere 5.0 products

VM01 - 1st ESXi host - currently added to the vCenter cluster

VM02 - 2nd ESXi host

New vCenter Server

iSCSI SAN

I'm a new Systems Admin, taking over for a recently quit (shape up or ship out situation - he shipped out) sysadmin.  The vCenter server crashed, took the DB with it with no backup, and a VM Host running esxi 5.0 (VM01) went down.  HA was setup, and so all virtual machines moved over to the other vmhost (VM02).

I have since spun up a new VM, installed vCenter Server 5.0 on a VM created on VM01 host.  I added that host to the cluster on vCenter, and am now planning on adding the second host VM02 to this as well.

My questions are pretty simple I'm sure (I'm coming from a Hyper-V shop previously)

I see all the other VMs on the vCenter server here, underneath VM01, as Unknown - when I migrate the VM02 to this cluster, will those show up again, or will I have to setup the DRS, vMotion, and/or HA again?

HA was previously setup, but from my reading I see that the config (or some of it at least) is on the hosts themselves, can I import that configration back, or am I better off recreating that?

I'm doing this after-hours in a maintenance window, but the shop is technically 24/7.  Should I expect any real downtime?

Thanks for any help/suggestions! 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
abhilashhb
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

You have all the VM's running on the second host right?

When you add the second host, it will bring all the VMs under the inventory. Whatever is unavailable/unknown, right-click and remove from inventory. These are just orphaned files that are no more needed.

All you need to do with HA is that you need to add the hosts into the cluster and turn on HA. It will do all the required configurations so you don't have to worry much about it.