VMware Cloud Community
ggomez43
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

cannot login Vcenter 5.5 (please help)

I am new to vmware technologies. I installed vcenter5.5/with SQL express inside a windows server 2012R2 VM. I cannot login vcenter from vsphere client5.5 from my windows 8 PC. I can login vcenter inside windows server 2012 but I cannot even create my datacenter, no icon option.

What am I doing wrong? In my lab, should I be loggin in vcenter from my local windows PC with vsphere client?

I have an HP server G6 with two nested ESXI host. I don't have AD setup and using local DNS....

vcenter.JPG

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

According to the screenshot you tried to login using the Windows Administrator account!? Please use the SSO account administrator@vsphere.local to login. This is the only account with full permissions after a basic installation.

André

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

According to the screenshot you tried to login using the Windows Administrator account!? Please use the SSO account administrator@vsphere.local to login. This is the only account with full permissions after a basic installation.

André

0 Kudos
ggomez43
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

thanks.

My SSO account is administrator@vsphere.local. I was able to login Vcenter and create my data center and add two ESXi hosts.

In the future, if I was to add Active Directory and DC in a new VM. is there anything special I need to look out for when configuring to work with vcenter?

I appreciate the help.

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution